Monday, July 11, 2011

My first day out to the industry

After 3 months of staying at home, in between I spend few weeks going to hotels...some gave good responds but i will remember Swiss because of their humble and polite security.

He asked me : Did you have appointment? I said :No i just walk in to check whether if there is any openings for cooks. he said:No we don't have. you need o check on NST if have then have if not then don't have. so you go home then keep flipping till you find it OK?!" I was totally turn off on that evening. but it OK we keep moving and past in some of my CV to some other hotels.

After a few days, I saw on paper that Sheraton is hiring and i went in for interview. everything was smooth. I even get my senior who is a sous chef there to help me get in but perhaps its fated or what so ever i didn't get in. I went back for uncles funeral that weekend, was a different feeling this time because i use to hang out with friend till late night. Erm, maybe because i didn't have enough cash to hang out i guess...as time being i was getting financial aid from sue.

Cooked a delicious dinner that night as Sue was asking for cockles rendang and i wanted to have steam fish so i cooked the rendang and steamed sea bass with lemak chili padi. It was nice but too bad that Jo was not around and Geetz was there with us. Then I came back to Singapore and had an appointment with Chef toni on Tuesday and also Sarang"korean restaurant".

In the morning had a call from a firm saying that they saw my resume and they would like to slot in an interview and they need man power. and i told them i cant make it today so hopefully tomorrow.I went to Sarang and first was not a good sign cause I almost tripped by the floor mat at orchard central. hehe then i went up. ambiance pass, service etiquette pass, application form yeah as usual. surprised because the person who interviewed me was my high school senior but he had accident and didn't graduate. he was the sous chef there. and interview was nice and smooth.I went to Rochester park to meet chef toni and get to know that he is the manager there and no longer a chef and shocked that he is bringing in startz kucings into his da paolo. I passed my CV and I make a move.

The next day I went to landing the one who called me saying they need man power.They asked me how much am i looking at and i told them about 1.5. things was good and they say will call me back soon. The next day i called them and they told me they can only offer 1.3 where by sarang called and said they are offering 1.350 haha. was a twisted confused situation i was thinking.....then after comparing both i decide to take on the landing.I submitted the documents on Friday and told them i can only start on Monday. On Friday its self i have signed the documents.

I called the FnB guy "saman" and he told me to walk in at 6 am , and i was there at 548am i guess haha, and they intro me to some of the staff and he said walk around and get familiarize with the kitchen, I say OK and i did. then the two part timed chef walk in and ask me to help him to wash the pots.... and I was like OK its just few Pots after doing that i asked him is there any preps I can help with and he said"you help me wash all the things also la "I was like wth? disappointed lo but then keep washing and they told me the cleaner will come in late so i need to help out. about to eight where this yellow ribbon guy called "chella get in " and i was damn pissed and i asked him do we have a cleaner here ? he said the same and added that the cleaner resign so the other one coming in but later. I suck it up and keep going on. Then had Bfast and get back to wash. there was another newbie named Ragu He is from perak and while chatting he told me that he is from some private institute and he is getting 1.4 i was = =".more demotivated. Then was the break time i called the admin and tell her i got something to tell her.After some times i mange to tell her that i wants the submition of work permit application need to be hold for maybe another one more day . She ask me why and I told her that I need time to re-consider and she said that i had signed so no matter what i need to bear a month. In my heart Its possible for me to get a month of MC but things are not that bad yet.

She told me there is the head chef and sous chef joining in tomorrow. hehe at least This news was a little convincing. My problem was they was no one to report to and I don't have my own station to keep no Haccp standards and hygiene failed as the surrounding was mess and dirty. How do you expect me to keep things as clean as possible when i don't feel good about the place? chef yon{the part timed chef was good to me as he gets to know that I'm from sunrise and i didn't play politics as i also told chef that Ragu is from hotel background. then chef told yellow ribbon not to worry cause they now have a student and a hotel experienced cook LOL. After a while we was asked to do breaded chicken and deelan start tasking us till night .I just listening to it maybe my face already send signal that I'm not really into his idea of wanting us to do Over time.Ragu say that he is hungry and YR went and ask Deelan I don't know he was off or what, He came to us and said that staff meal is and incentive and they are trying to provide to us...i get more pissed and inside i was "@#$ pls shut the f... up I didn't beg for food here"and he said that if we want we can take some stuff and cook and eat silently by our self but don't too obvious.

He suddenly asked me what time I came and I said that I came in at 6am and he reply "I came at 3 am " Inside my heart "Your problem la, you earning better pay so why not " and he continued by saying... YOU GUYS DO OVER TIME LAH. ANYWAY YOU GUYS ARE HERE TO EARN MONEY WHAT! I almost replied him"I'm here with some vision and mission to ensure my hard works pay me back on a success experience in this industry not for the sake of earning money I AM NOT A LOW COST LABOUR.Please have some respect for diplomat cooks" Then another guy walks in and say there is some left over from morning catering so u guys can have it ....basically its what i had for breakfast today.....sianz......but I did suck it up. Lunch time deelan sited next to me and asked me is there any problem that i asked admin to hold the documents for two day....i told a covered story to him and he say its good to share if you have any problems....I say things are not organize and its mess down here and I'm re-considering and he try to explain and i was like duh.....and i say i will inform tomorrow.


I told saman that I'm gonna clock out at 3 and no OT for today. and he say OK if you guys wants OT then let me know.And i finish up the breaded stuff and labeled...spent some time talking to vikram and Stewart then and i make a move. that's for the day. I was damn pissed that i get a bottle of coke light and a bar 200g cadbury macadamia and munch it after back to home while telling the stories to sue.




TO BE CONTINUED.

JOKE OF THE DAY: vikram told yellow ribbon that :hey after cutting the tandoori chicken to cubes don't go and wash them OK:hahahah

Thought of the day: Nothing comes easily